my unofficial hong kong food guide

November 2, 2012 § Leave a comment

I’ve lost count of the number of times i’ve visited Hong Kong. friends would often ask me for recommendation and i will get really embarrassed cos honestly whenever i’m in Hong Kong, i’m just being led around. so for my very recent trip to Hong Kong, i decided to create an unofficial food guide to share my love of food.

If you are looking for some awesome and cheap dim sum, go to Tim Ho Wan. I’ve tried many and this is still the best. Some of my favourites include the siew mai, pork ribs and the char siew bao that has crispy crust. YUMMY.They have 3 brunches but i usually go to the one at central.

Mongkok: Flat 8, G/F Phase 2, Tsui Yuen Mansion, 2-20 Kwong Wa Street, Mongkok, Kln
Sham Shui Po: G/F, 9-11 Fuk Wing Street, Sham Shui Po, Kln
Central: Concession Hok 12A, Level 1, MTR Hong Kong Station, Central

I’ve also tried dim sum at The Square.

The photos may look more appetizing than those taken at Tin Ho Wan, but i think it’s cos the lighting at The Square was a lot better. If there’s one thing you have to try at The Square, it has got to be the yummy egg tart ( you can do without the bird nest on it. I couldn’t taste the bird nest at all) and the roasted pork which was unfortunately sold out when i was there. I prefer their dinner menu than their dim sum.

Shop 401, 4/F, Exchange Square
Podium, Central, Hong Kong
Tel: 25251163
Nearest MTR Station: Central

My favourite japanese restaurant in Hong Kong is hands down MISO.

I always have more than 1 serving of salmon sashimi there and the unagi with ginger rice is a must-try too!

MISO
Basement
Jardine House Central
Telephone: 28458773
Nearest MTR Station: Central

Eugene’s favourite wanton mee at Wing Wah Wonton Noodle Restaurant.  Please also order the fried fish skin. It was sinfully yummy. I didn’t take any photos cos it wasn’t very visually appealing. Their mango glass jelly was actually really fantastic too. what a great way to conclude supper.

Wing Wah Wonton Noodle Restaurant
89 Hennessy Road, Wan Chai, Hong Kong
Tel: 2527 7476
Nearest MTR Station: Wanchai

Will be back for more updates on the food in Hong Kong!

Tagged: , ,

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading my unofficial hong kong food guide at countingsheeps..

meta

